Long before Dorothy came to Oz, Glinda and the Wizard changed everything.

Who needs heroes? (I do)

Picture from Prince Caspian

In previous posts, we discussed villains and heroes. Now we come to a more personal question. Who needs heroes?

This question drives my writing and my explorations into character.

I am flawed. I struggle. I move forward a little bit, and then I fall. I get tired. It’s hard to get up and continue. What do I need to go on? Pretty much, I just need a hero to look to.

Rocky Balboa

Rocky Balboa received an inspirational speech from his trainer, Mickey.

This next video appears to be a teaser trailer for Rocky Balboa. “It ain’t about how hard you hit life, it’s about hard you can get hit.”

No matter what, life is going to be stronger than you. Just keep moving forward.

C.S. Lewis

C.S. Lewis is a hero of mine. He went through depths of despair, doubt, and distrust. He found his way to the Light through hard work, intellectual honesty, and persistent questioning. He tested every principle until they became his, because he knew they were true.

“It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for a bird to learn to fly while remaining an egg.

We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.”

— C.S. Lewis, “Mere Christianity”

What lives in your mind?

Heroes come in all shapes and sizes. I am glad of that. In every situation, I need a hero who has been there before, someone who I can believe in, because sometimes, when life hits me really hard, it is tough to believe in myself. Having a hero that lives in my head gives me a light to look to when I feel dark.

What lessons have you learned from heroes? Share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

